Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Wolfmanny

Title: Wolfmanny
Author:  Julia Talbot
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-287-2
Genre: {M/M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Publish Date: Feb. 6, 2017

Kenneth was given custody of his nieces and nephews after the death of his sister.  But Kenneth is not only an Alpha, he’s also CEO of a large software company and doesn’t have the time to take care of the children on his own.  He’s gone through several different nannies and, after his oldest bites the latest nanny, he’s forced to look somewhere else for help.  What surprises Kenneth is that the nanny he is expecting turns out to be a many, as well as his mate.  Having Jack show up gives Kenneth the courage to claim Miles, his beta and other mate as well. 

Wolfmanny is the first book in Ms. Talbot’s new series, Nose to Tail, Inc.  This first book is a great shifter story with a few twists thrown in to keep the reader’s attention till the last page.  This is a ménage story that centers on the Alpha, Kenneth Marcon, his beta Miles, and the newest member of the household, Jack. 

First there is Kenneth.  From the beginning, it is easy to see how much he loves his nieces and nephews.  After caring for them so long, he sees them as his own children and will do anything for them.  I also liked the way he is with Miles, even before he claims his beta, he sees the man as his.  But Kenneth has a strong sense of responsibly and does not know when to step away from work.

Then there is Miles.  Miles is the pack beta.  It is his responsibility to be there for the pack when Kenneth isn’t.  He’s also Kenneth’s right hand man when it comes to the business.  When the new manny shows up, he is intrigued by the other man and is surprised by Kenneth’s reaction.

Last there is Jack.  Jack used to be an enforcer in his original pack.  He also has military training and has worked as a manny many times.  He is just what the Marcon family needs, not because they are bad kids but because they are young wolves with a lot of energy.  He is also just what Miles and Kenneth need as he helps Kenneth learn to relax and shows Miles that he is wanted.   With him there, the other two men are finally comfortable acknowledging their feelings for each other, as well as Jack.  I loved the chemistry between these three men.   Even though things move fast, it comes across naturally so the relationship between the men does not seem rushed.  Before the men have a chance to complete the mating, Kenneth must go away on business which leads to some hairy situations. 

There are a few little situations that pop up that will keep the reader’s attention.  One really surprised me and I felt bad for Simone, Kenneth’s oldest.  I also loved the children, especially Ginny and Thomas.  There are also a few other secondary characters that really help make the story.  

I am curious to see what the next story will be about and hope we will not have to wait too long.

Thick & Thin

Title: Thick & Thin
Author: Charlie Cochet
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-389-3
Genre: M/M, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Release Date Feb 1, 2017

Everything is changing for Destructive Delta; the biggest change will be Dex and Sloan’s life together as well as a change in their career duties.

Thick & Thin is the sequel to Smoke & Mirrors and the eighth book in the THIRDS series.  Kidnapped from the home he shares with Sloan, Dex is interrogated by a mysterious Therian where Dex learns the whole truth about his parents, John and Gina Daley’s homicide. This new information has set Dex on a mission to root out the secret government agencies, but access to the identities of the underground operation means he must become an undercover agent for the Therian Intelligence Network.

The second part of Dex’s mission, along with soon to be husband Sloan, is to protect their Destructive Delta family.

Thick & Thin answers questions of events introduced in Smoke & Mirrors, as well as opens the doors for the next level of crime fighting. Think of it as FBI agents promoted to CIA in the world today. 

Charlie Cochet has created another impressive and enjoyable installment to the THIRDS series. I look forward to discovering the answers to the burning questions of who is this underground government and what do they want? 

Wulf and the Bounty Hunter

Author:  Gail Koger
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-227-1
Genre: {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Wulf meets Yakira as a child, after she steals his credit chip.  Not only does he discover she is a Jones, he realizes she is his mate and wants to protect her until she is 21, when he can claim her.  Yakira gets away and doesn’t meet Wulf again until she is close to being of age.

Wulf and the Bounty Hunter is the sixth book in the Coletti Warlords and highlights another Warlord and a Jones woman.  Those that have read previous stories know that a Jones woman has a way of constantly being in trouble and is also very smart and, for the most part, is also a warrior with lots of psychic talent.  Yakira is no exception to this rule, as is the non-stop action in this stories.

I love the way Ms. Koger works humor into her stories.  The women are constantly snarky to all, including their Warlords.  A lot of characters from previous books show up as Yakira and the sister of her heart constantly come up with ideas that get them into trouble. I was constantly laughing at the mishaps.

Between kidnappings, threats, and trying to get together, Yakira and Wulf get to know each other and Yakira doesn’t want to wait to mate.  Even though things get hot and heavy between them mentally and with kisses, Wulf keeps putting her off.  They have some great chemistry and I laughed at how quickly they left their bonding ceremony. 

I am looking forward to reading more about the Coletti Warlords in the future.  This is one series I am looking forward to reading over and over again.

Destination, Wedding!

Author:  Xavier Maine
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-198-1
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Release Date: Jan. 30, 2017

Ethan and Gabriel are finally getting married.  That is if they can get to the church on time.  With Mother Nature putting her two cents in, the men are worried about what this will mean for the happiest day of their lives.

Destination, Wedding!  is the sixth book in the Brandt and Donnelly Capers series.  In this book, Ethan and Gabriel are ready to get married but when a previous case causes them to lose their wedding venue, the simple wedding they planned becomes a destination wedding in England.  If that is not a big enough problem, the men become separated.  First when Ethan has to go to San Diego for a conference, and then later when a volcano erupts in Iceland, causing many flights to be canceled.  This is really the first time the two men have been away from each other since becoming partners while on the job, and both are struggling with that separation.  As Ethan and Gabriel make their way to England, they are forced to take a deeper look at who they are as individuals and what the other person means to them. 

I really loved this story.  I have been waiting for these two to get married from the moment they got together and wondered how the author would go about doing that.  This story did not disappoint.  The separation Ethan and Gabriel are forced to endure is one full of adventure for both, yet they still miss the other and while Gabriel sees just how much Ethan means to him, it is Ethan that really under goes the biggest change.  When these two finally meet up again, watch out because they will burn up the pages.

There are a lot of secondary characters in Destination, Wedding!.  Of course, Bryce and Nestor are there and these two will have you laughing from the moment they show up until the last page of the book.  When they went to the truck stop, I laughed so hard I almost cried.  Bryce’s logic, when it came to getting to England was over the top crazy, does not do their trip justice. 

There are also several new secondary characters introduced, some of whom play important roles in this story.  There is also a couple of minor mysteries, both of which are slightly shocking.  

This story is slightly different from the previous ones and has become my favorite of the bunch.  I hope the author has no plans to end this series yet as I would love to see more of Ethan and Gabriel in the future

A Christmas in Paradise

Author:  Tianna Xander
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0656-1
Genre: {M/F/M}, Paranormal, Series, Holiday
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Grant and Trey regret leaving Evie in New Jersey, but they don’t think she can accept what they are.  Evie decides to go to Montana to visit for Christmas.

A Christmas in Paradise is the nineteenth book in the Paradise series.  This book is a little different from the previous ones, as there is not a shattering life event.  Instead this book is about three people reconnecting and figuring out what they really want and need.

Evie already knew about the two men being shifters and is hurt by the fact the two didn’t talk to her as she thought of them as her best friends.  Grant and Trey know she is their mate, but were afraid to share their secret in case of rejection and didn’t think she could handle a poly relationship.  It is easy to tell that they have chemistry.

A few characters from previous books make a very brief appearance. I was a little puzzled about how Evie became friends online with Gemma though. 

I hope there will be more in this series and that readers will learn more about the Rangers who became shifters and their future mates.

Melissa’s Christmas Wish

Author:  M.R. Kelly
Publisher:  eXtasy books
Publisher URL:  http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0956-2
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal, BBBW, Holiday
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

All Mel wants is to spend her last night as a student hanging out with her best friend.  However, things don’t go as planned when Mel finds herself in a dangerous situation.  As far as Mel knows, all hope is lost and she could perish at any moment. 

Serghei is a vampire who is no stranger to protecting others. When he has visions of a beautiful, mysterious black woman, he knows he has to help her.  Unfortunately Serghei has no idea who she is or where to start.  All he knows is that something about her is drawing him in.

Melissa’s Christmas Wish has a lot of drama and story packed into this short read.  I was sad when it ended.  Mel’s relationship with her best friend was so moving.  They seemed to understand each other more than their families.  That kind of bond is hard to come by and I appreciate M.R. Kelly reminding me of the importance of a great friend.  I was impressed by the amount of honor that Serghei has.  Without hesitation, he jumped to help Mel and without hesitation, Serghei also decided to walk away. Thank GOD Mel was not afraid to share her feelings with him.  Readers will be rejuvenated from this story, no doubt.  The blend of action and romance is impossible to resist.

The Alien’s Holiday Gift

Author:  Lee-Ann Wallace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0957-9
Genre:  Science Fiction, Holiday, 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Petra is constantly being rejected as a mate because she can’t have children.  She is very surprised when Kartoc, her guard, approaches her about becoming his mate.

The Aliens Holiday Gift by Lee-Ann Wallace is the first book by this author I have read.  It is a fast read but there were a few gaps regarding questions.  Why the Morgaths were looking for mates among human women was a question never answered.  The mating process was interesting because of the various transformations involved for both parties.

Kartoc has a reason he chose Petra that is revealed toward the end after she goes through a traumatic event.  I could understand why Petra decided Kartoc could have anything he wanted after that revelation.

Several of the secondary characters were interesting and one decided to ignore the rules for choosing a mate, which resulted in a tragedy for him.  Unfortunately, Petra also had a hand in what happened because she wasn’t quite ready to change her mind about leaving Morgath. 

I will be looking for other books by this author to read and will probably read this one again.

Solider of Fortune

Author:  S.J. Frost
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0666
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Conrad is a mercenary and makes no bones about it.  He’s done jobs and worked for people that would make the average person cringe.  That does not mean that if the right person came along, he won’t be a softer gentler man. 

Soldier of Fortune is a great story for those that love at least one of their main characters to be a little on the dark side.  Conrad is a mercenary but, unlike those we normally see, he did not get his start through the military.  In fact, Conrad started training while still a teenager and when readers realize why, his actions become understandable.  Conrad has been doing his job for many years now and while he had an exit plan, he did not realize that he would be putting it into effect so early.

Lucas is the son of a wealthy man.  Since it has always been just the two of them, Lucas and his father are close.  When Mr. Hartman decides to run for public office, Lucas couldn’t be prouder until someone takes a shot at his father during a campaign stop.  When Mr. Hartman hires a bodyguard, Lucas is shocked by how drawn to the other man he is. 

There is an instant connection between Lucas and Conrad from the very beginning.  I loved their first meeting and had to laugh at Lucas’ reaction to Conrad.  The connection from Conrad’s side is just as strong but, where Lucas deals with worry that Conrad is straight, Conrad wonders about being good enough for the younger man.  Thankfully neither of these are issues that the author drags out. 

Woven through the story of Lucas’ and Conrad’s relationship is the mystery of who tried to kill Mr. Hartman and why.  This part of the story is a little predictable, but readers will still find themselves turning the pages to see how everything will play out.  This is also where Conrad’s dark side really shines.  I liked that this was something that Lucas could deal with and that he even worried about being so accepting of Conrad’s actions. 

I did think the story ended a little too soon and I hope the author will bring them back for more.  Fans of Ms. Frost’s are sure to enjoy Soldier of Fortune and those who have yet to give this author a try should do so.

Friday, January 13, 2017

Five Minutes Longer

Author:  Victoria Sue
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-916-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Science Fiction
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Finn Mayer has wanted to be in the FBI since he was 14 years old.  He’s worked hard to accomplish his dreams, putting up with more than anyone should so when he is denied his dream, he is devastated.  Just when he is ready to find something else, he gets a call that changes his life.

Five Minutes Longer is a new book by author Victoria Sue. I want to say right off the bat that I hope the author plans to turn this into a series as there is still a lot of story to tell.  All the characters, both main and secondary, will pull you into the story from the beginning and you will not put the book down until you have finished it. 

Finn is dyslexic and has worked hard to overcome his problem.  He has also kept his learning problems to himself to keep from facing the ridicule his brother and mother would send his way.  Unfortunately, Finn does not get into the FBI like he wanted.  To make matters worse, he finds himself the target of his mother and brother’s BS and decides he has had enough.  Getting ready to walk out the door, Finn get a call asking him to come to Florida for training.

Talon is an enhanced human.  Bigger and stronger than a normal human, enhanced humans also have special powers, all of which make them targets of those afraid of them.  Hoping to show that normals have nothing to fear from the enhanced, Talon and the FBI form a special unit, but there is one problem.  The powers that be want the unit to be made up of normals and enhanced, something that Talon and the others making up the unit are against. 

Unaware that he is being set up to fail from the beginning, Finn is excited about his chance to get into the FBI.  Then he realizes what is going on.  Determined to prove to everyone that he can be an asset, he works hard, but it’s too bad he can’t get Talon out of his mind. 

The attraction between these two is intense.  Both want the other but fear getting involved.  Talon also has a few issues that pop up, keeping him from admitting just what the young normal means to him.  Outside factors also play into the men’s relationship, usually showing up just when you think Talon and Finn have a chance at a relationship.  

There are a lot of little twists and secrets in Five Minutes Longer that will keep you reading.  There are also moments that will tug at your heart strings.  As I stated in the beginning, I really hope the author plans to make this a series.  I am curious to see what happens with the other members of H.E.R.O.  and I think Talon and Finn have more to tell as well.  Fans of the mystery, science fiction, or action sub-genres are sure to like this story and should really give it a try.  

My Mistletoe Master

Author:  Cameron Allie
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0837-4
Genre:   {M/F} BDSM, Holiday, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Amelia has stayed away from home after humiliating herself at a party with her brother’s best friend, Nick.  Because of his loyalty to her brother, Nick has always regretted not telling Amelia how he felt.  Things will change this year at Christmas.

My Mistletoe Master is the first book in the Unexpected Changes series by Cameron Allie.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect as this is the first book by this author I have read and not all authors can write about BDSM well.  I was pleasantly surprised, especially as Nick wasn’t an established Dom and the story indicated that he was doing research so he could meet Amelia’s expectations.

I had to laugh at both Amelia’s and Nick’s reactions when she thought she was alone and started watching a kinky video and Nick caught her.  That was the catalyst for the rest of the story.  I found it interesting that Amelia is the one that didn’t want people to know they were together after that.  There were also some very funny moments when her brother was trying to figure out what was going on as well as almost catching them.

Several of Amelia’s relatives are funny and I had to laugh at Amelia’s grandmother.  With trying to conceal their relationship, Amelia’s ex showing up at a party, and other friends trying to make a play for Nick, there were plenty of times that would make you cry, laugh, or want to slap someone in this book.

The author did a good job of showing how both people try to find their way when both were inexperienced, but one party already knew about their submissive side.  I’m glad the author made sure to mention safe words and that Nick made sure Amelia used them. 

I want to see where the author takes this series. I sort of want to see what happens with Amelia’s brother.

Treasure for Treasure

Author:  R. Cooper
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-888-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Joe wants out of Everlasting.  The town is supposed to be special, yet all Joe has ever found is pain and heartbreak.  Now back in town, after leaving for college, Joe is working as a barista and selling his paintings on the side.  When dragons return to Everlasting, many are scared, but Joe is just pissed.

Treasure for Treasure is the seventh book in the Being(s) in Love series.  This story is nice and long, which I liked, as it gives the readers a chance to get to know the characters.  In this story those characters, both main and secondary, really make this story shine.

The main characters are Joe and Zarrin.  Joe is a normal human.  He has a long history in the small town of Everlasting.  Growing up poor and a minority, he had his fair share of bullies and bigots to contended with.  The one thing he thought made a difference was his boyfriend.  That is until he realized he was just being used.  Joe’s history with the town is introduced in the story’s prologue.  Normally I can take or leave prologues, but this one pulled me in and I felt so bad for Joe and what he had gone through. 

Zarrin is a dragon and, like Joe, has a long history with the town of Everlasting.  Zarrin’s family goes back to the start of the town and his several times great-grandmother.  Dizhen’s magic was strong, protecting the town and those that lived there.  When Dizhen passed, her heirs were tasked with the protection of Everlasting.  Most ended up leaving, that is if they even showed up until Zarrin. 

Zarrin is young and weak by dragon standards.  He’s the only one in his family with any interest in the town yet, while the town folks are afraid of him, Zarrin does not feel he has what it takes to step into Dizhen’s shoes.  I really loved Zarrin.  He wants so badly to be a dragon his family can be proud of, but it boils down to the fact that they are so different that no matter what he did, they would not change their opinion of him.  In the end Zarrin proves to himself and others just what type of dragon he really is. 

The relationship between Zarrin and Joe starts out rocky and stays that way for some time.  There are a lot of misunderstandings on both sides, plus the fact that Joe has a big chip on his shoulder where the dragons are concerned.  The turning point in their relationship is very harsh and I felt so bad for Zarrin I wanted to cry. 

By far Treasure for Treasure is my favorite of all the books in the Being(s) in Love series.  While each book can be read on its own, many of the books tie in to each other so new readers to this series may want to read the books in order. 

Oops!

Title: Oops!
Author:  Anne Kane
Publisher:  Changeling Press
ISBN/BIN:  07866-02538
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary, Guilty Pleasures, Humor
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

They say things happen in 3’s and these three friends definitely make some things happen.  Caroline, Jackie and Stephanie have come up with a plan to save their business.  These ladies are the proud owners of a quaint bed and breakfast.  Or, at least they were until they discovered some illegal changes in the paperwork, which now has them evicted. 

The friends refuse to take this lying down so they decide to snatch the traitorous man who caused this.  They would convince him to do the right thing by giving him the scare of his life.  In theory it sounded like a plan that couldn’t fail, but in reality things took a left turn right from the beginning.

Jebediah kept telling the ladies that he wasn’t the man they were looking for, but they refused to listen.  Truthfully, they all seemed kind of frightening, except for Jackie.  Something about her was calling to him, so Jebediah became less upset about being tied up. His hands ached to have a much better purpose, if only he could convince Jackie to untie him. 

Eventually the ladies realize their mistake, but not before things take an erotic turn. The whole situation brings out things in Jackie that she has never acted on and Jebediah is about to lose control.  Just when it seems all hope is lost, Jebediah gives the ladies some information that saves their bed and breakfast. 

Something about kidnapping a man and having him helpless gives every woman a rush.  Oops!, the first installment of the Yule Tied series was an adventure gone wrong but man, it couldn’t have ended more perfectly.  I felt like I knew this group of women so I knew they wouldn’t hurt a fly.  I was shocked because I thought all of them were more straight laced, and boy was I mistaken.  Jackie had no shame in her game when it came to Jebediah and I liked that about her.  She gave her two girlfriends a show I doubt they were expecting.  Thank goodness Jebediah was on their side.  This quick read has everything from comedy to action and adventure.  The ending was so clever and unexpected, I loved it.  Anne Kane did an outstanding job on kicking off this series, and readers will be missing out if they don’t pick this one up.

Alien Conquest

Title:  Alien Conquest
Author:  Tracy St. John
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-063-1
Genre: {M/F/M/M}, BDSM, Sci-Fi, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Cassidy has been in a convent on Europa for three years.  As her grandfather comes to get her to go back to Earth, the convent is taken captive by the Kalquorians.  Cassidy becomes the chosen one for Captain Tranis and his clan.

Alien Conquest is the third book in the Clans of Kalquor series.  This book goes into more detail about how the Kalquorians try to re-educate the women, although the medic in the clan determines that it is the wrong approach to take.  I will warn readers that there is more sex in this book compared to the others I read previously, and there are some things that could cause some triggers. 

One of the reasons the Captain was following Cassidy’s grandfather was because of his position in the military on Earth, as the Kalquorians want to end the war by an invasion. There is a major surprise for everyone in the Galaxy that I did not see coming.  This will affect all the rest of the stories in the series for sure.

I really liked Cassidy.  She was extremely smart and wanted to learn as much as she wanted, but her education had been cut short.  As Tranis, Lidon and Degorsk were trying to break her repressive training regarding pleasure, they discovered this fact and offered to provide tutors so she could study anything she wanted once they returned to Kalquor.  It was clear the chemistry between the four was hot, but Cassidy kept going back and forth about enjoying it, or thinking she was terrible for enjoying herself.  Things do work out in the end. 

I have enjoyed reading this series so far and am looking forward to reading more. As with previous books in this series, Alien Conquest is available through this publisher if you reside outside the U.S., otherwise the book can be purchased at Amazon (hyperlink for title), which is where the author’s website sends readers in the U.S.  Readers also need to be aware that this series was published previously and has been revised for Totally Bound.

Regifted

Title: Regifted
Author:  B.J. McCall
Publisher:  Changeling Press
ISBN/BIN:  07869-02539
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal, Christmas
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Fern Lantry volunteered to work late, not expecting anything exciting to happen.  She is happily surprised when her boss gives her a Christmas gift.  Fern’s happiness takes a nose dive when she realizes the gift has been regifted to her.  But, Fern puts on the exotic perfume anyway.

Pace Holden misses the mountains and his pack, but something was giving him hope that Christmas would be better than he originally thought.  The scent of his new neighbor was driving him crazy, and he just had to meet her.  She was human, but she smelled of wolf pheromones, and Pace didn’t know why.  A storm hits and causes all the power to go out, giving Pace the perfect chance to get close to Fern. 

Things between Fern and Pace move quickly in Regifted, the second installment of the Yule Tied series.  Once the couple start going down the road the perfume guided them to, there was no turning back.  Fern has never been up close and personal with a shifter before and she’s dying to take whatever her wolf lover is ready to give.  As far as Pace is concerned, Fern is going to be his forever.  Reading about the couple’s time together left me with a warm happily ever after feeling that I never get enough of.  I loved the fact that two lonely people find each other during the holidays.  Readers should give this story a read and hope that Santa is half as nice to them. 

A Bond of Truth

Author: K.C. Wells
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-134-9
Genre: {M/M/M} High Fantasy, Sequel
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Prince Arrio of Teruna, Prince Kei of Vancor and Dainon of Kandor are three strangers destined to be soul mates for a lifetime.

A Bond of Truth is the sequel to A Bond of Three. The sequel features the next generation of lovers set in the fantasy world. Some of the inhabitants of this world were blessed with special gifts to help mankind. These talents are featured throughout the story, bringing a whimsical premise to a budding romance.  

Prince Arrio is the adopted son of King Tanish and his two consorts. Arrio is a caring young man who is loved by all in the kingdom.

Prince Kei has lead a sheltered life, mainly because of being the younger son of an overprotective mother. Kei loves adventure and was finally allowed his freedom when the King gave Kei permission to visit his brother Sorran, one of King Tanish’s consorts.

Since Kandor has been at peace for years, Dainon’s duties as a warrior are not needed, so at the request of King Rohar, Dainon travels to Teruna to seek aid. Dainon comes from a kingdom where same sex couples are outlawed.   

The three men are well-matched in personality; all three are honorable along with having compassion. Arrio and Kei have magical gifts, while Dainon has the good instincts as well as the skills of a warrior. Arrio, Kei and Dainon also have the emotional fears of a new relationship.

A Bond of Truth is an enjoyably enchanting tale into sensual explorations.

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Enemy of My Enemy

Author:  Tal Bauer
Publisher: Nine Star Press
Publisher URL: http://ninestarpress.com
ISBN: 978-1-911153-96-2
Genre: {M/M}, Political Thriller, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jack and Ethan are back, and so is their most hated enemy.  The men must pull in all their chips to find out what is going on, and even then, it may not be enough.

Enemy of My Enemy is the second book in the Executive Office series by author Tal Bauer.  This is a series that must be read in order, so if you have not read Enemies of the State, you may want to stop reading this review to keep from seeing any spoilers.  

Enemy of My Enemy starts where Enemies of the State ended, with Ethan agreeing to move into the White House, becoming the First Gentleman.  He also agrees to go to work for Irwin, heading an off the books black-ops mission.  As you can imagine, many in the White House circle are not happy and soon Jack finds himself looking for a new Vice-President.  It was interesting seeing how these two strong men worked to make this new change in their relationship work.   But soon their relationship has more rough turns than either expected. 

When Madigan returns, he sets into motion a plot that will have the readers wondering just what the hell is going on and whether Jack and Ethan will ever be able to stop him.  In Enemy of My Enemy, Madigan’s crazy really shines through.  The things this nut job does, and the plans he has, is just one of the many parts of this story that will keep the readers turning the pages.  There are other twists in this book that will grab the reader’s attention as well.  More than once I was worried how things would turn out.

Many of the characters we met in the first book, besides Madigan, Jack, and Ethan, show up in this story as well.  Puchkov’s life takes an interesting turn and so does Lt. Cooper’s.  I can’t wait for both their stories. 

While I enjoy the romantic aspect of this series, for me, it is the political thriller area where the author really shines.  I love the way the author has of pulling the readers in, and keeping the story fresh.  The only real problem I have found, would be that it is very easy to reveal spoilers while talking about this book.  I think everyone will be surprised by the way Enemy of My Enemy plays out, and I hope book three is just around the corner because I really need to know what happens.

The Last Dance

Title:  The Last Dance
Author:  Kierney Scott
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-219-6
Genre: {M/F}, Suspense, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Georgina ends up working as a spy because she started using cocaine to lose weight when she was vying for the prima ballerina spot in the ballet company she was working for.  Her latest target is not someone she wants anything to do with.  Roman knows Georgina is a plant, but can’t resist her.

The Last Dance is a story of a woman trying to survive her past and the mistakes she made.  Once she gets involved with Roman, her life changes as she is caught between her handler and Roman, two very dangerous men.

At first this story starts slow, but picks up as it goes along.  The chemistry between Roman and Georgina is hot, but things are complicated by the fact Roman knows she is supposed to target him.  There are some facts that Georgina is not aware of about her handler that make what happens toward the end surprising, as I certainly did not expect some of things that happened.

I do have to say, I didn’t like Roman at that point at all.  The reasons are all explained at the end, and Roman and Georgina do get their happily ever after, but I’m not sure I would have been as forgiving about what he did. 

The other characters in the book are a mixed bag.  Some I liked, but even then, what they did and who they worked for sent a lot of mixed signals when it can to helping Georgina.

I would say this story could be a cautionary tale for women who want to work in other countries.  Once the story picked up, it was one I had to finish.  This was also the first book I have read by this author and will be looking for more.

Falling into Darkness

Author: L.M. Brown
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78651-509-4
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx
  
A bond of heavenly love forms between Michael and Lucifer in the realm of angels, the only paradise Michael and Lucifer will ever know after Lucifer falls from grace, leaving Michael torn between good and evil.

Falling into Darkness is a stand-alone book of Michael and Lucifer’s history before the Heavenly Sins series. Lucifer was the favored above all the angels in heaven; he was titled son of the morning by God. Michael is an archangel, one of his duties is to watch over mankind and save the souls of those worthy.

The storyline has a religious overtone as a backdrop. Falling into Darkness features the angel wars as well as the emotional drama of good versus evil. However, the main theme is the compromises made to achieve enduring love between Lucifer and Michael. Lucifer is a powerful angel, a little vain and a charlatan. What is interesting to me is, unlike other angels who break the rules, Lucifer still retained his powers to create demons, so in that sense he was a God of the underworld and perhaps an example of wickedness. 

L.M. Brown has created an impressive illustration of the dilemma in regards to making the right choices. I enjoyed Michael and Lucifer’s sensual romance.

Enticement

Title:  Enticement
Author:  Sierra Cartwright
Publisher:  Totally Bound Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-109-6
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Ella doesn’t want to fall in love with someone that won’t be there for her.  When she ends up flirting with a man that has some issues with the word no, her best friend’s brother rescues her.  What she doesn’t count on is falling in love with him as she thinks he is so wrong for her since he is a military man.

Enticement is the second book in the Master Class series by Sierra Cartwright.  Those familiar with Ms. Cartwright’s work know she writes mostly within the BDSM genre.  I did have one issue with this book, and that was the choice of the safeword that Ella has.  It was discussed within the story as to why she had that particular word, but those familiar with the lifestyle will probably still have an issue with it as I do.  Other safety issues were addressed appropriately.

Ella is curious though she has dabbled in the past in BDSM.  Until Pierce comes along, she really hasn’t experienced the way an experienced Dom can make a sub feel.  Sometimes I did think Ella was trying too much to please Pierce, but soon realized she was into what she and Pierce were doing.  The two have some great chemistry, but the biggest problem is Ella’s mindset.

Pierce has his own issues that involve his family.  As the story progresses, friends step in to try to help and other issues come up.  I loved the way the story did end and enjoyed the way that Ella and Pierce reconciled.  There were a couple of surprises. 

Though this stories has been previously published with another publisher, this series can be read as standalone stories so far.  I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

Hunting Season Hijinks

Author:  Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN: 978-1-4874-0901-2
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

It’s hunting season again, but unlike most seasons, Gideon is on his own since his father is sick.  But things don’t go the way he had planned, and Gideon can’t decide if he is surprised or not.

Hunting Season Hijinks, the 38th book in Ms. Richards Wolves of Stone Ridge series, touches on one of the odd ball questions that floats around in my head whenever I read a story about shifters.  How come no one gets caught by hunters while running around in the woods?  In this newest book, that is exactly what happens.

Gideon has grown up around Stone Ridge and, while investigating the woods, he has noticed many unusual things.  This has lead the young man to have an open mind about what is around him.  This comes in handy when, while bow hunting, he takes down a deer that runs off.  After tracking it, he comes across a naked man who has been shot, in the same areas that Gideon shot the deer.  Gideon is surprised by the feelings the man brings up, especially once he becomes conscious again.

Alejandro is on the run.  His herd requires him to mate with several females to enlarge the size of the herd. The problem is that Alejandro is gay and there is no way he can get any female pregnant.  The only thing left is for him to get out of Arizona before his alpha or beta can kill him.   While looking for the Stone Ridge pack, with hopes of getting accepted into the area, Alejandro smells something that intrigues him, but before he can find out what it is, he is shot by a hunter. 

I liked the way these two met.  It is so far from the norm, which is a refreshing change, that you can’t help getting caught up in the story.  I also liked the connection between the two men, and the fact that they waste no time jumping into bed, fits with the flow of the story.  The chemistry between them is hot and the care Alejandro took with Gideon made me smile. 

I had started to wonder if there would be any real conflict in Hunting Season Hijinks and the author did not disappoint.  There is the problem with Gideon’s ex, who brings some surprising and deadly results, as well as the issue of Alejandro’s herd that must be settled.  I liked the way the whole story plays out and think this could easily be one of my favorites in the series.